Article Index


Welcome to the Cross Association’s Diversity and Inclusion Hub, a pool of resources from articles to podcasts that have been recommended by AEO, AEV, and ESSA members.

The hub is an ongoing working project, with content being updated whenever new resources are submitted. Our hope is to receive enough varied content to cover all of the UK’s 9 protected characteristics within the Equality Act 2010.

Discrimination means treating you unfairly because of who you are. The Equality Act 2010 protects you from discrimination by:
  • Employers
  • Businesses and organisations which provide goods or services like banks, shops and utility companies
  • Health and care providers like hospitals and care homes
  • Someone you rent or buy a property from like housing associations and estate agents
  • Schools, colleges and other education providers
  • Transport services like buses, trains and taxis
  • Public bodies like government departments and local authorities.


There are nine protected characteristics in the Equality Act. Discrimination which happens because of one or more of these characteristics is unlawful under the Act.

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

To learn more about what the nine protected characteristics are, and what they mean for you, click the below button

Your rights under the Equality Act 2010

If you’re treated unfairly because someone thinks you belong to a group of people with protected characteristics, this is also unlawful discrimination.

Citizens Advice 


Contact Us
119 High Street
Herts HP4 2DJ

Tel: 01442 285812